RTAS 2021

Call for Papers – The Brief Presentations Track


A new Brief Industry Paper Track (BIP) is introduced in the brief presentation track this year! See details below.

The Brief Presentations (BP) Track offers researchers and practitioners an opportunity to present their industry-relevant experience, ongoing work, published yet unpresented papers, and demos, to the RTAS and broader CPS-IoT Week audience. There are four sub-tracks in BP: BIP (Brief Industry Paper), WiP (Work in Progress), WaP (Work already Published), and Demo, where BIP in particular is new this year. Papers accepted in BIP, WiP, and Demo will be included in the main RTAS Proceedings with IEEE. A fee needs to be paid to cover the formal publication cost. Extended abstracts accepted in WaP will appear online. The BP Track inherits the scope of technical areas from RTAS 2021. The review process is double-blind. One author of an accepted submission must register for the conference and make a presentation.

Submission Page



  • Submission deadline: 31 January 2021 (23:59:59 GMT)
  • Notification of acceptance: 15 March 2021
  • Camera-ready deadline: 31 March, 2021

Brief Industry Paper: The BIP sub-track welcomes industry-relevant and unpublished work, including existing research ideas applied to practical applications, implementation results, outcomes of development projects, case studies, challenges, or positions. There must be at least one author with an industry affiliation. Reviewers will not criticise BIP submissions for lacking theoretical contributions. BIP papers are limited to 4 pages and must include “Brief Industry Paper” in the title (i.e., Brief Industry Paper: Title of the Paper). Authors may refer to a more comprehensive technical report anonymously posted online if needed. Confidentiality of sensitive information is understood.

Work in Progress: The WiP sub-track welcomes ongoing and unpublished work, discussing early ideas about problems with existing solutions or open problems, new research directions, or trends in practice. Review will focus on originality and potential impact. Solutions and experimental validation are not necessary. WiP papers should not exceed 4 pages and must include “Work in Progress” in the title (i.e., Work in Progress: Title of the Paper). Shorter submissions than the page limit will not be penalised.

Work already Published: The WaP sub-track welcomes extended abstracts with at most 2 pages, of a previously published journal or conference paper, which has not been presented. The submission must include “Work already Published” in the title (i.e., Work already Published: Title of the Paper).

Demo: The Demo sub-track welcomes extended abstracts with at most 2 pages describing demonstrations of experiments from published papers (including those accepted to RTAS 2021), prototypes, or tools. The submission must include “Demo” in the title (i.e., Demo: Title of the Paper). Authors of accepted abstracts are required to present a video of the demonstration in the conference.


Wanli Chang (University of York)

Committee for BIP:
Dirk Ziegenbein, Robert Bosch (Co-Chair)
Zhenbang Chen, National University of Defense Technology
Patricia Derler, Kontrol LLC
Jelena Frtunikj, ArgoAI
Yu Jiang, Tsinghua University
Jinkyu Lee, Sungkyunkwan University
Mole Li, Rolls-Royce
Shaoshan Liu, PerceptIn
Philipp Mundhenk, Robert Bosch
Alessandro Pinto, Raytheon Technologies
Debayan Roy, Technical University of Munich
Gurulingesh Raravi, Nvidia
Simon Schliecker, Volkswagen
Wilfried Steiner, TTTech
Frank Sill Torres, German Aerospace Center (DLR)
Hao Wang, Dalian University of Technology
Helmar Wieland, Inchron
Aditya Zutshi, Galois
Shuai Zhao, University of York

Committee for WiP, WaP, and Demo:
Jing Li, New Jersey Institute of Technology (Co-Chair)
Akramul Azim, Ontario Tech
Lei Bu, Nanjing University
Matthias Becker, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Xiaotian Dai, University of York
Dip Goswami, Eindhoven University of Technology
Chien-Chung Ho, National Chung Cheng University
Martin Horauer, University of Applied Sciences Technikum Wien
Alejandro Masrur, Technical University of Chemnitz
Sangyoung Park, Technical University of Berlin
Selma Saidi, Technical University of Dortmund
Amit Singh, University of Essex
Ishan Thakkar, University of Kentucky
Zichuan Xu, Dalian University of Technology

Any inquiry, please contact the Chair <wanli.chang@york.ac.uk>.